Move Over, It’s the Law

Move Over, It’s the Law

Picture this, you are driving down the right-hand lane of a divided state highway, and up ahead you notice flashing amber lights on the right shoulder of the roadway. You recognize it's a South Dakota Department of Transportation (SDDOT) litter crew picking up trash in the ditch along the roadway. What do you do when you see this?

As many people do, you move over into the left lane to give the vehicle and workers enough room to maintain a safe environment for both you and them. While this seems like the courteous thing to do, did you know that it is also a South Dakota state law?

This is called the South Dakota Move Over Law and applies to vehicles involved in law enforcement, highway maintenance workers, emergency response, service (tow trucks), and motorists experiencing mechanical trouble. South Dakota’s Move Over law requires travelers to move over and/or slow down when a stopped vehicle is in use of amber, yellow, or blue warning lights.

A violation of this law is a Class 2 misdemeanor, which is punishable by a minimum fine of $270.00 and/or 30 days in jail. 

Failure to move over resulting in a crash with a stopped vehicle using appropriate signals is a Class 1 misdemeanor. To learn more about the Move Over Law see South Dakota codified law SDCL 32-31-6.2.